Logo Block
Breadcrumb Block

EYFS Areas of Learning

Content Body Block

EYFS Areas of Learning

Prime Areas of Learning

two_year_old_at_a_playground.jpgThe statutory framework for the early years foundation stage (2017) states that the prime areas of learning are ‘particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive’. The prime areas of learning are considered time-sensitive which means that practitioners working with the youngest children will focus on these areas more strongly. It is also important to ensure that practitioners identify any areas where a child’s progress is slower, through careful observation and assessment, so that children and families can access appropriate and timely support.

‘It is widely agreed by researchers and practitioners that personal, social, and emotional development, physical development, and communication and language are closely linked to one another and are central to all other areas of learning and development.’
The Early Years: Foundations for life, health and learning, Dame Claire Tickell (2011)

Specific Areas of Learning

Children will strengthen and apply their skills in the prime areas through the specific areas of learning.

‘The specific areas provide a context for building on early development and learning beyond the prime areas. The specific areas are dependent on the prime areas and cannot be encountered in isolation from communication and language, personal, social and emotional development, and physical development, since the child is always experiencing the world through emotions, communication and physical and sensory involvement.’
The Early Years: Foundations for life, health and learning, Dame Claire Tickell (2011)

Foot Block
Parameters{showAZBar = True; aZListingPageNodeId = 25317; aZSiteRootNodeId = 24491}
A-Z Services